Who are we?

The Prefects have been part of Fairmont since its inception in 1977.  

They are a group of 24 matrics who are elected by their peers and staff to serve as the gatekeepers of school traditions and the embodiment of our Core Values of Respect, Integrity, Service and Excellence.  They have traditionally been an extension of the discipline arm of the school, upholding the School’s Code of Conduct, but more recently their focus has shifted to brand ambassadors and role models for our school rules and values.  

Prefectship is based on the concept of servant leadership; serving their school community with humility and integrity.  They are Fairmont’s leading citizens, setting an example for all to follow.

The Prefect Pledge

I promise to carry out my duties to the best of my ability, to involve myself in school activities, to preserve school traditions, to embody the core values of respect, integrity, service and excellence, to concern myself with the needs of others, and always be fair, honest, obedient and loyal.

Structure of the Prefects

The Prefect body consists of 24 Matrics. The school will endeavour to have 12 boys and 12 girls.

The Executive Portfolio is made up of the Head Boy, Head Girl, Deputy Head Boy and Deputy Head Girl.

The other 20 Prefects are divided into the other portfolios based on strengths and interests.  

The Prefects are lead by the Prefect Executive as well as two teachers in charge:
Mrs Melissa Taylor and Mrs Elsabe Van Zyl.


The Prefects will occupy the Learner Leadership shared portfolios:

As well as their own unique Administrative and Pastoral Portfolios. 

These will include organising duty rosters, attendance registers, awards evenings, running Grade 8 Orientation etc.